Riders Auto-Save with Unity. How to turn off?

Answered

Rider has an auto-save feature when I go back to Unity's window. (without having commited my changes with a "Save" hotkey like Ctrl+S)

This triggers a new compilation while I'm using Unity and this operation takes time, so it's important that I must be the one that triggers it.
I want to stop Rider from "saving" when I go into Unity.
In Visual Studio I would first need to save or do a build to trigger a recompilation in Unity.
In Rider, it sometimes happen automatically.


Another thing that would be nice, is that I can start compiling without having to select Unity's window.

In Visual Studio, I would start a build to do this, and Unity would then automatically start a recompiling.
But is there a way to do so in Rider? (I'd rather not do a build because it takes time in Rider).


Other than that, Rider is really great. And I'm pretty sure I will buy when the trial ends.

4
9 comments

Hello, please try disabling settings Preferences | Appearance & Behavior | System Settings | Save files when switching to a different application. Let me know if that helps.

8

Hey Olga Diakonova that worked. Thanks.



Another thing that would be nice, is that I can start compiling without having to select Unity's window.

In Visual Studio, I would start a build to do this, and Unity would then automatically start a recompiling.
But is there a way to do so in Rider? (I'd rather not do a build because it takes time in Rider).

Do you know about this?

0

Unendingfeast, there is an option to refresh assets(manually or automatically in Preferences | Languages & Frameworks | Unity Engine | General), Unity should recompile code on the refresh, does that work for you?

3

It's behaving correctly now, thanks for your help!

0

Thanks Olga! I needed exactly the same

0

Is there a more explicit way to tell that a file is unsaved? For now it's a bit hard to detect which tab is saved or not

0

You can enable Preferences | Editor | General | Editor Tabs | Mark modified(*). 

1

Great thanks a lot!

0

The (apparently) default “Save files when switching to a different application” setting caused me to lose so much freaking work over the last two weeks. When you're working in Unity with the UI Toolkit Builder and you update any files outside of Unity, it discards all of your changes and reloads. So if I tried to edit the USS stylesheet and switch back, even though I had intentionally not saved any changes, Rider would save them for me with the result that if I also had any unsaved changes in Unity they would be immediately discarded. 

I understand what that might be a desirable setting, but it caused me so much grief! I'm glad I finally found out what was happening and could disable it!

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.