Riders Auto-Save with Unity. How to turn off?

Rider has an auto-save feature when I go back to Unity's window. (without having commited my changes with a "Save" hotkey like Ctrl+S)

This triggers a new compilation while I'm using Unity and this operation takes time, so it's important that I must be the one that triggers it.
I want to stop Rider from "saving" when I go into Unity.
In Visual Studio I would first need to save or do a build to trigger a recompilation in Unity.
In Rider, it sometimes happen automatically.


Another thing that would be nice, is that I can start compiling without having to select Unity's window.

In Visual Studio, I would start a build to do this, and Unity would then automatically start a recompiling.
But is there a way to do so in Rider? (I'd rather not do a build because it takes time in Rider).


Other than that, Rider is really great. And I'm pretty sure I will buy when the trial ends.

4 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hello, please try disabling settings Preferences | Appearance & Behavior | System Settings | Save files when switching to a different application. Let me know if that helps.

2
Comment actions Permalink

Hey Olga Diakonova that worked. Thanks.



Another thing that would be nice, is that I can start compiling without having to select Unity's window.

In Visual Studio, I would start a build to do this, and Unity would then automatically start a recompiling.
But is there a way to do so in Rider? (I'd rather not do a build because it takes time in Rider).

Do you know about this?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Unendingfeast, there is an option to refresh assets(manually or automatically in Preferences | Languages & Frameworks | Unity Engine | General), Unity should recompile code on the refresh, does that work for you?

1
Comment actions Permalink

It's behaving correctly now, thanks for your help!

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.