How to use? Why option "Save context on commit" exists?

Hi,
I'm learning my way around Tasks, changelists and contexts in Rider as I often switch tickets that I'm working on.
There is this option "Save context on commit" that I don't really get.

Let's say I'm working on a bigger Task/Issue and I do 15 commits to my feature branch. Why would I want to have a closed task created for each of these commits in my Task?

I'm not saying this is a useless thing. I just don't really see how it is useful and I'd like to be shown some ways to use it to my advantage.

1 comment
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Maciej,

In you particular case, the feature is not very useful indeed. It is very basic and works exactly as described in the documentation.

If you assigned a shortcut to the setting, you could toggle it on quickly before a specific commit and then toggle it off. But there's a usability issue with doing that too: https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-197531

If you have ideas on how to make the feature better, you are welcome to share them here or directly at our issue tracker (new feature request).

You can also leave your comments in https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-84756

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.